#28DaysofGratitude – Day 17

I did the stupidest thing today, and almost missed my flight for a trip I was planning. It was a huge calculation error and traffic misjudgment on my part and I was berating myself the entire ride to the airport! Had it not been for an enthusiastic cab driver who was determined that I make it on time, and a really kind co-passenger who willingly offered to be dropped off after me, I would definitely still be stranded at the airport! Kindness from strangers is not something we expect or accept as the norm, so when it does happen, it leaves you, not only with the warm and fuzzies, but also with a determination to pass it forward whenever you can..

Funny thing is, in those twenty minutes it took for the situation to shift from “I’m-definitely-going-to-miss-my-flight” to “Shucks-I-might-actually-make-it“, I was angry at almost everyone around me – right from the erratic car drivers that came in our way, to the co-passenger who kept asking about my flight to even my husband in another city because I wanted him to be as anxious as I was! Go figure! But the moment I stood at the gate, those negative feelings magically evaporated into oblivion. When I thought back, I was so amused at how absolutely pointless my anger was. Thank God I didn’t call my husband and instigate a fight or say something mean to the lovely co-passenger!

Weird how human emotions work. When we are down, we want to take the whole world down with us, even if it is completely unintentional. Anger can be such a dangerous emotion. My lesson from this is definitely to try and take a deep breath and count to 5 before I allow my anger to take control of my mind. It is harder said than done, but hey, I think we owe it to ourselves to do that.

Leave a comment